Brief trip to Blighty

Last week – as many of you know – we were briefly back in Bisham (Dad & I were there for a week but poor Mum was just there for a long weekend, as she had to go to the US for meetings). Dad was a bit busy – painting front doors, the gate & the inside of the shed – that has just had a new roof. Granny Devon was the cook & bottle washer. We had a fantastic chocolate cake & delicious steak & kidney pie. Our fantastic sofa – once belonging to Aunty Gwendoline & re-covered at Victoria Works by Katerina, with fabric from Shanghai – is now in place in Bisham! which means Dad & I can watch TV more comfortably. On Thursday, I went on an outing with G’pa & Micheline to Nuffield House which was very interesting – top features included Lord Nuffield’s mini workshop in his bedroom, also seeing his appendix in a bottle. Urrgghhh!

And a lot of thank yous:

Thanks very much to the Curtley’s for a fantastic Saturday brunch – we had the full works – yum, yum. Thanks to Granny-fix-it who may need to be renamed Granny storage for being our Amazon warehouse for parcels in the UK. It is like Xmas when we open them all. Thanks also to all the friends who came & joined us at for traditional Portuguese style English pub grub at The Bull for dinner on Saturday night – great to see so many people there. I was surprised to find a bird in the bathroom when I got home – Dad said is was a Goldfinch & he caught it & set it free. Also, thank you very much to Auntie Claire for cooking the best Sunday roast ever! (roast lamb & 3 helpings of pudding). We were kind of celebrating Mum’s birthday – & Shirley had made a brilliant cake – too good to eat (but of course, we did eat it).

Flakey

  I told Mum that Dad was being mean to me at Pudong Airport and she said I could buy as much chocolate as I wanted.

Ist on the plane again!

Ist on the plane again!

Mum's absolutely brilliant birthday cake.

Mum’s absolutely brilliant birthday cake.

The carrots that I planted in Bisham in July were just about ready but we had no time to eat them in England. Dad harvested them in the rain about half an hour before we left for the airport and we snuck them in a suitcase. It was worth it, they were delicious!

The carrots that I planted in Bisham in July were just about ready but we had no time to eat them in England. Dad harvested them in the rain about half an hour before we left for the airport and we snuck them in a suitcase. It was worth it, they were delicious!

Believe it or not this was my Mandarin homework!

Believe it or not this was my Mandarin homework!

Our new sofa. What sofa? I can't see any sofa.

Our new sofa.
What sofa? I can’t see any sofa.

The Doors

2 comments

  1. Diane Hawkings · · Reply

    Granny Devon beat me this time as I have been very busy complaining to Amazon. When you find out how to do it, which takes an honours degree in computing, they are very helpful and efficient.
    Anyway jealous of your carrot growing – well done GD – and envious as shop ones are not as tasty.
    Also extremely impressed with the matching front doors – they look every bit as good as Downing Street.
    And very pleased to hear that the goldfinch was set free.

    Like

  2. Granny Devon · · Reply

    I’m the first to comment this week I think. I’m writing to you from Mallorca – wish you were here.

    What a lot of carrots, I had no idea that there were so many – glad I watered them. Can’t believe that you took them back to Shanghai – how funny!

    Like

Tell me what you think!

