The day of the “Great Cold”

Dear Bloggers,
Thanks for all the wonderful comments on last week’s blog – they really cheered me up, as I (and Mum) have been feeling really under the weather this week with nasty colds, coughs & sore throats. This week at school I have been preparing for our first rugby match & I have started taekwando. Dad lost his wallet this week which caused a bit of a drama (cancelling all his bank cards etc). He reported it lost at the local police station & they gave his passport back to another lady who was reporting a scratched car. Thankfully she asked why she had been given 2 passports & Dad spotted that she had his, or it would have been a double nightmare if he had lost his passport too! We watched the film “West Side Story” at home on Friday night – really sad – I didn’t like Chino. Saturday I was up early to meet the bus which took me to Dulwich School – where we played 3 games in a tournament. We won 1 game & lost 2 games – not too bad for our first games. Dad came along to watch – as it was sunny, he quite enjoyed it. Saturday evening we went to the ballet – Swan Lake – at the Shanghai Centre – Mum suggested we read the story first, which was a good idea, as I would have had no idea what was happening otherwise. The first bit was quiet good & I liked the music, but I fell asleep in act 2. I woke up again just in time to see the end. Today, I did tons of homework, & went for along walk after lunch, in search of some weird sights & strange happenings!

Enjoy the pics:

Homes for small people?

Homes for small people?

Let's start a new fashion

Let’s start a new fashion

More new year treats

More new year treats

new year treats

new year treats

Number of the beast

Number of the beast

Rugby

Rugby

Shanghai Culture Square

Shanghai Culture Square

Still waiting for Christmas?

Still waiting for Christmas?

Hard at work

Hard at work

Fun Fact:
Today – January 20 – is the day of the “Great Cold” in China – also known as “Dahan”. The twenty-four solar terms are closely related to the changes of nature and are very useful tool for farmers and gardeners, providing information on the proper time for planting and harvesting. The 23rd solar term is known as the Minor Cold (or Slight Cold) and the 24th is known as the Major Cold (or Great Cold). Mum was very confused when she saw “Great Cold” in her work diary, so we had to find out about it!

Hope you are enjoying the snow in England & Tokyo & avoiding the flu in New Jersey.

From, Thomas

13 comments

  1. Are they Brussel sprouts?
    Who is that asleep?
    Nice blog this week….

    Like

    1. No, they are peas!
      No idea who that sleeping man was – he had a desk in a shop that was empty except for 1 kimono – perhaps it was an exhibition (a VERY small one)

      Like

  2. Auntie Hannah · · Reply

    Hello Thomas, hope you’re feeling better.
    Amelia and I are going to see Swan Lake in a couple of weeks, hope she doesn’t fall asleep.

    Like

    1. If I fall asleep, It’ll be the next day in maths (or French actually) !

      Like

    2. Dont forget to read the story before you go!

      Like

  3. You look like a rugby pro in that shot! And what a lot of lovely ballets you’re getting to see. We’re jealous. BUT we have been sledging lots and thoroughly enjoying our cold weather here. School was cancelled on Friday and today it doesn’t start until 10am! All a bit of a cop out, I think. BUT today we also have to try and get the car out and seeing as we don’t have Rosie here (4×4 still in Africa), it’s going to be a challenge! Hope we don’t drive into too many walls. x x x

    Like

  4. Granny fixit · · Reply

    You have now seen two of my favourites – west side story and swan lake. I saw swan lake last year by the Russian Ballet – excellent but always wise to read the story before going. Thomas, I really like your rugby pic, you are really getting involved. Keep well.

    Like

  5. Hi Thomas, I am concerned that you don’t like Chino as I spent making days wearing them as part of my Curtley casual wardrobe. Why didn’t you tell me, your Mum always commented on them but for what reason I’m not sure. You’d better ask her. Today Charlotte and I went sledging, Matthew is too ill with big temperature and non stop cough so he was sad not to go. Their school is closed tomorrow, they’re very sad, NOT ! Love to you all

    Like

    1. I asked mum about chinos & she said it is not the chinos that are the problem it is the beige that she is not so keen on. Hope Matthew is feeling bmuch better.

      Like

  6. Granny Devon · · Reply

    Your Mum must have been very confused when she saw “Great cold” in her work diary especially as she was suffering with a very nasty cold of her own!
    Rugby looks great fun, I hope you continue to enjoy playing.
    Hope you are all feeling better again now.
    By the way I thought you hated peas – what are they doing on your head?

    Like

    1. The peas were for mum’s dinner – i didnt have even one!

      Like

  7. So, Thomas, it seems it was the composers’ week from Leonard Bernstein West side story to Pëtr Il’ič Čajkovskij Лебединое озеро: I agree with you, both sad stories. But what about music: did you enjoy and what’s your favorite (to listen to and not to help you sleeping…)?

    Like

    1. I enjoyed the music to west side story and swan lake (while I was awake) and I listen to a variety of music on my ipod. Do you have any suggestions for me?

      Like

Tell me what you think!

